trauma narrative through art

Started by Dee, September 12, 2017, 05:09:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dee

Has anyone done this?  How does it work?  My therapist is suggesting we start this.  She has given me time to think about this before my next appointment.  We have talked very little about trauma and are about to start.

Three Roses

yes, i did a bit of this, and gained a lot of insight thru my "art". haha if you can call it that! ;) it seemed to bring up deeper emotions than just talking and it seemed easier to access the emotions than with writing exercises. the media i used was collage, utilizing ads and pictures that i cut from old magazines. thanks for reminding me of this - i think i may do it again! :D

sanmagic7

i've also done this, dee, and it was very helpful.  i'm no artist by any means, but i was able to draw feelings easier than i was able to explain them, even to myself.   i got a lot of clarity in all cases, and it also helped with annihilating depression when it crept in again.   

i'm a big proponent of it.  i worked with an art teacher for troubled adolescent girls, and we utilized art a lot with them, too.  very powerful stuff, lots of stuff they could get out of their systems, put on paper, so that it wasn't building up inside them anymore.   it wasn't always coherent pictures, either, but employed scribbles and color as well.  it was just a visual manifestation of a multitude of crapola roiling around inside.  but, they all loved getting it out, and it caused much more stability for them (and for me, too, when i was doing my own.)

just my experience.  big hug, dee.

Candid

I went through a stage of drawing, and I drew lots of faces.  Most of them were sad, a few had big fake grins that looked hostile.  That was followed by a brief but happy period of making tiny pixies and fairies in clay.  Most were around 2cm tall.