What are examples of emotional flashbacks?

Started by Morelia, April 30, 2017, 12:39:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Morelia

Hi,

I am new to the idea that I might have CPTSD. I've read a bit about emotional flashbacks, including the stuff on Pete Walker's website. With my newfound knowledge I think I've identified one kind of EF I experience. It's always very quick, so quick that I'd previously dismissed it as an overreaction. Last time it happened it was triggered by a loud voice and resulted in a pounding heart, a hot, flushed face and an intense feeling of possibly panic that caused me to freeze. I think it was only a couple of minutes long, five minutes at most before the feeling started fading. Even though it was short, it was a totally disproportionate reaction. The person who owns the voice is a safe person. I like him. He wasn't even yelling, just joking around. There is no reason I should be afraid of him.

So I'm pretty sure that's an EF, although I'd appreciate confirmation (or dissent). But after reading some of the forum posts, I wonder if I get longer EFs as well that I haven't identified yet. Can you please describe how EFs manifest for you?

Thank you.

Three Roses

Emotional flashbacks, or "amygdala hijacks," seem to be the main hurdle most of us have in dealing with cptsd. They can transport us involuntarily in an instant to a state of being consumed by panic, or anger, or feeling helpless. They can make us feel small and at the mercy of the whims of our fellow humans. They can fill us with rage, make us feel frozen or send us into a codependent "let me help you" reaction. Or, we feel in imminent overpowering danger and find ourselves running from the stimulus, either in our imaginations or in reality.

Some of us experience EF's fleetingly and infrequently, while others seem to live in one.

Psychologytoday.com describes them: