New, Confused, and Frightened

Started by profchaucer, April 07, 2017, 06:03:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

profchaucer

Hello, everyone. I'm new to this forum. I'm new to CPTSD. I read an article in a magazine about it in hopes of helping a friend, but instead I identified with it. The symptoms mirror my experience too well. I haven't been diagnosed by a clinician, and am scared even to raise the possibility for some reason. Maybe I'll be told I don't have it, which means I'm just a depressed anxious person at my core. I'm even afraid to post this, but don't know why.

I'm struggling right now. I read the article on an airplane on Sunday, patterns emerged, and memories flooded back. Now I can't get numb. Anxiety is tearing me down. I'm a professor, and walking into my classroom has become terrifying. All the fear of being a 12 year-old and being bullied is rushing back in. I've had the screw-in-the-gut feeling of the anxiety non-stop since Sunday. I feel like I'm losing my mind.

I'm going to end there. I'm sorry this post, my first, is so scattered. Writing is normally like breathing for me, but I can't organize my thoughts.

Wife#2

ProfChaucer,

Welcome to Out of The Storm. This is a website by and for fellow survivors of cPTSD. Many of us do not have formal diagnoses, for various reasons.

I'm so sorry that you are feeling so very upset. Of course you aren't able to formulate ideas right now, your mind is swirling, hectic, frantic and trying to figure out WHY those childhood fears are overwhelming you right now.

I'm no psychiatrist, so can't help regarding diagnosis, and I'm not diagnosed myself either. But, what you're describing sounds very much like an Emotional Flashback (EF). They can be very real and very overwhelming, just like you're describing. You know you aren't 12 anymore, but knowing and believing can be different things sometimes.