New and Terrified - *Trigger?*

Started by Orbiter, April 05, 2017, 09:15:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Orbiter

I'm not good at this. I'm terrified of making mistakes, of breaking rules. I'm scared I'll break rules here or say something wrong. I'm sorry in ahead of time if I mess up here. I don't feel comfortable even on the internet, and English is my secondary language. My biggest problem is a total lack of confidence in myself which leads to that I am terrified of speaking up. I've been conditioned into silence, made believe no one could care at all what I have to say, or what I think. I feel inherently ugly, not just on the outside but in general, just somehow rotten. I feel unwelcome no matter where I go. I expect any stranger, all strangers, to say something hurtful to me if I only give them an opportunity so I better not.

My home is my only safe zone where I can do some measures of relaxing from the constant hyper vigilance, and feel safe, most of the time. This has lead to isolation from the rest of the world and completely severed connections. I can't build friendships and leaving the house is a roulette of anxiety symptoms. I'm long time unemployed, I haven't finished high school and don't know if I ever can. I methodically procrastinate every troublesome thing to the last tick of the last available minute and then spend the entire way there stressed out about it, but somehow just unable of taking care of it. I do have one blessing in my life, my partner of almost 10 years. He's the reason I'm still here, but I don't treat him well enough. I try, I really try, but there's a depthless well of anger inside me that I struggle to control. I snap at him for little things, then apologize and feel terrible about it. I want to be better. He's shouldered our economy and survival over the years all by himself and I can't even get myself to behave.