Feeling Stretched Thin

Started by strangenights, March 27, 2017, 07:58:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

strangenights

Hi, let me preface this by saying I'm new and of course this post might be in the wrong spot.

I don't really know where to start, its 3 am where I am currently, so that should tip you off to the state of my sleeping patterns. I have an abusive Nmom and an abusive by association (or something like that) eDad. I'm lucky to have gotten out in my early twenties, I moved out a few years ago, and completely cut them off last year. They're still wreaking havoc on my life and mind, my younger sister unfortunately still lives with them and we work together, so I do hear about my family's life continuing without me. I'm very close with my sister, although she is a golden child, I spent the young years of my life making sure that the majority of my mother's abuse was directed at me and not her.

Anyway, if you don't mind I'm just going to let it out.

I'm a shift manager at the restaurant I work at (just the kitchen), working 35-40 hours a week is exhausting me. I don't necessarily know if I can justify not working, or working less hours even. I don't know that I want to, but I need to change something.

This current year so far has been my worst and best yet. I'm free of my parents, and I'm moving forward and making progress! However, I am also swimming through the sludgy aftermath of all of it. I've had nights where I sleep 16 hours, I've slept through entire work shifts, and I've also had 2 to 3 day stretches with no sleep. My coworkers have all noticed by now, it is a kitchen and we all talk, not that I'm ashamed but there is so much stigma surrounding mental illness. Every night I sweat to the point where my sheets and pillow are damp, I also dream of my parents on a nightly basis. The dreams are all pretty similar but different in their own "fun"  :thumbdown: way.