possible trigger, recently diagnosed

Started by silentrhino, March 13, 2017, 02:42:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

silentrhino

Hello, my name is silent rhino, it has more meaning than it sounds.  I have been attending counseling for the past two months and since I can finally attach a name to my ever present symptoms of depersonalization, self abuse and depression it has been helpful.  I have been diagnosed as an adult, however I had twelve years of constant emotional, physical and sexual abuse in my childhood.  Although I am thirty years past childhood the symptoms which started around age 24 have never left me.  During my abusive childhood, I was a survivor, now I struggle with suicidal ideation and have for many years.  I am looking for support, I am trying to save my own life to be honest as my struggles with suicidal thoughts are persistent though I have no plan.  I keep looking for a reason as to why I was victimized for so long, but have no logical answer.  Does anyone else look  for reasons that are impossible to realize and explain their long term childhood abuse.

Three Roses

Hi, welcome silent rhino. I'm glad you're here. :)
QuoteI am looking for support, I am trying to save my own life to be honest as my struggles with suicidal thoughts are persistent though I have no plan.  I keep looking for a reason as to why I was victimized for so long, but have no logical answer.

You've come to the right place for support! You're not alone - many of us have said they felt a sense of relief in discovering there are others who can say they understand.

Don't look for reasons, it wasn't your fault. I hope you find all the answers here that you need. Thanks for joining!  :wave:

Candid

Quote from: silentrhino on March 13, 2017, 02:42:48 AMDuring my abusive childhood, I was a survivor, now I struggle with suicidal ideation and have for many years.