Please tell me if you think I'm being too sensitive. I'm still learning to know

Started by writetolife, October 02, 2016, 02:52:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

writetolife

So yeah.  This happened tonight, which left me kind of hurt and surprised.  And I'm torn between thinking that I'm way too sensitive and thinking that the other person involved was trying to make me feel crazy or ashamed.  Any sort of constructive input would be greatly appreciated. 

So, I bought a ring based on the rings from the Lord of the Rings, with the Elvish inscriptions and everything.  I really like it, and I'm telling this person about it, probably not for the first time over the last couple of days.  This person, I'll call him D, tells me about this group of people who heard about who used to wear the rings and think they really had the powers and bla bla bla.  And then asks me, "Do you think you have powers?" totally dead pan.  And just waits for an answer.  At this point, I'm so dumbfounded by the question (I am a very conservative and not altogether unstudied Christian, as is D) that I'm just staring at him.  I watch his face fall with this look of like "Oh my goodness, does she really?" before I manage to get out, "Why would you even ask that?"  To which he replies "I was just joking" and puts a smile on his face.

I know this is a stupidly mundane question, but I'm still trying to learn to identify gaslighting, etc.  And your help would sure be appreciated. 

Thank you so much.   

Three Roses

We've learned to second-guess ourselves, having lived thru the things we have lived thru and being told to "get over it" or "why are you so upset?" We learned to ignore that little voice that says, "Something's not right," until we almost have lost the ability to even hear it.

Trust your gut on this one. If something felt "off", it probably is. I would totally keep it in the back of my mind and be watchful. Be good to you!

writetolife