Can parentalization happen even when your an adult yourself?

Started by Indigochild, May 09, 2015, 06:35:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Indigochild

Hello  :wave:

I have a question about parentalization.

Does anybody know if parentalization is still called *parentalization* if it is happening with your own parents / parent when you become an adult?
And also...would this be called parentalization, even though i am an adult now myself at age 25?
The name doesnt matter- his lack of showing normal caring behaviour towards me i know is ...not what most parents do.

I have no idea when this began with my dad, Im only starting to learn about my childhood and i have idolised him all of my life.
He is emotionally neglectful and never stood up to my mums emotional abuse.
He is the only family member i am properly in touch with.

My parents divorced when i was 17 years old.

When the divorce happened my dad (sober that day) was so upset and was saying over and over that he was a rubbish dad. This was really upsetting to hear. He was an emotional mess. 
He asked me if i would always be *dads girl* as he was afraid he would loose me and not see me because of the divorce.
I have started to notice recently, that he talks over me whenever i see him.
He always talks about himself.
He will come to visit (not often), and the first words that come out of his mouth are all about *himself*.

When my boyfriend and I broke up and i hate to stay at dads for a week, dad asked what happened, and i only told him a little, but as soon as i opened my mouth, he started going on about my mum and how *horrible she is* and how she made him feel. (he doesnt know though that she was emotionally abusive he just says that what she said was *hurtful*.

Last christmas, he was also asking me what i thought of his current girlfriend...what i think of her behaviour, and why i think she is like that. He complains to me about her now and again and has done in the past.